map of China Information on Guizhou Information on Liaoning Information on Beijing

Click on any underlined province or city for more information


China covers an area of 9.6 million square km, or 6.5% of the world’s total land area. It is the 3rd largest country in the world – after Canada and Russia.

The distance between its east and west borders is over 5200 km and between north and south is over 5500 km. Although all of China is run on Beijing Standard Time, the country does in fact span several time zones and climates, with the weather in the north often very different to that in the south.

China’s borders extend for 22,143 km and separate it from 14 countries: North Korea, Russia, Mongolia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, India, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Myanmar, Laos and Vietnam.

Within its territorial seas, China lays claim to over 5000 islands, the largest of which are Taiwan and Hainan.

© Churches Together in Britain and Ireland 2010